Ayawaso East Municipality Finally Sworn-In Assembly Members


The East Ayawaso Municipal Assembly has finally Sworn-in the elected Assembly members who battled the Municipal Chief Executive, MCE, Hajia Salma Mohammed Sani-Kuta over number of government appointees.


The eleven (11) elected Assembly members had a tursle with the MCE over the formula needed to appoint a number of government appointees to the ‘baby’ Ayawaso East Assembly which for them (Assemblymen) was huge.

This was dragged for closed to six weeks but with the intervention of some chiefs and eminent people in the Municipality the elected Assembly member agreed and were sworn-in last Monday.

On behalf of President Akufo-Addo, the Deputy Greater Accra Regional Minister, Madam Elizabeth Sackey indicated the Constitution (article 35) demands the involvement of many people in governance.

This she said could be done through “decentralizing the administrative and financial disburstment from the government to the region and districts”.

The President formed the ceremony that it behooves on the district/municipal to formulate and execute plans, programmes and strategies for the effective mobilisation of resources to run and to develop the municipality.

President Akufo-Addo commended the elected Assembly and Unit Committee Members and the government appointees who are all mandated to help develop the municipality.

Inaugurating the Assembly members for a four-year tenure, Nana Addo indicated they are part of the government therefore the need to help to deliver on the numerous promises made to Ghanaians.

Adding, he said “together with your MMDCEs, I charge you to advance the implementation of government programmes in the Co-ordinated Programme of Economic and Social Development Policies 2017-2024”.

He charged the Assembly to collaborate with the land commission for mobilisation of property rate to help grow their Internally Generated Fund, IGF.

The Deputy Greater Accra Regional Minister, Madam Sackey on behalf of the President frowned on the Assemblies allow building or grants people permit to build on waterways which ends up affecting public safety and development.

To this end, he charged the new Assembly members to collaborate with the Assembly to ensure people are not to allow building or people to build in waterways since it causes floods that affect innocent lives.

Hajia Salma Adams Mohammed Sani-Kuta, Ayawaso East Municipal Assembly posited in her welcome address said the area has challenges like poor infrastructure, congestion in the municipality, poor drainage and choked drains amongst others.

In addition, she indicated the Assembly is facing serious low revenue base as a new Assembly with few members, however, she was quick to add that with hard work and selflessness they were able to chalk some significant success.

The MCE was pleased the Electoral Commission, EC created additional electoral areas from 2 to 11 in the municipality so could properly carry out the needed development.

Hajia Sani-Kuta, Ayawaso East MCE commended all the newly elected Assembly members, however, she charged them to put the interest of the Municipality above all other partisan interest since district Assemblies are non-partisan.

The Member of Parliament, MP for the area, Mc Nasser Mahama Toure also advised the Assembly members to work hard to help bring development in the municipality.

Speaking on behalf of the MP, Alhaji Olabodi Williams urged the ceremony to stay away from thing that could retard development of the people.

He thanked the newly elected Assembly members for allowing the inaugural ceremony to come on for the sake of unity, development and for sanity to prevail.

By: Delali A. Awuyeh


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here